Resource Materials

Internet Safety/Cyberbullying & Copyright Issues

Cyberbullying

NSteens - http://www.nsteens.org/videos/cyberbullying/

NetSmartz - http://www.netsmartz.org/resources/reallife.htm

StopCyberbullying - http://www.stopcyberbullying.org/

McGruff Cyberbullies - http://www.mcgruff.org/#/Advice/http://www.mcgruff.org/advice/bullies-and-getting-along/cyber-bullies/

Digizen - http://www.digizen.org/cyberbullying/film.aspx

Wired Kids - http://www.wiredsafety.org

Broken Friendship - http://www.netsmartz.org/resources/reallife.htm#realfriendship

Common Sense Media (Partner with parents to raise media-smart kids) - http://www.comonsensemedia.org/schools

CTAP 4 Region - http://www.ctap4.net/projects/cybersafety/38-cybersafety/180-are-you-cybersafe.html

 

Internet Safety

NetSmartzKids - http://www.netsmartz.org/NetSmartzKids/InternetSafetyEveryday

NetSmartz Safety - http://www.netsmartz.org/resources/psas.htm

NSteens - http://www.nsteens.org/

Criminal Justice Careers Cyber Safe Kids - http://www.criminal-justice-careers.com/crime/cyber-safe-kids.html

Cyber Security Awareness - http://cybersecurity.idaho.gov/kids.html

Disney Online Safety - http://home.disney.go.com/guestservices/safety

SafeKids Online Safety - http://safekids.com/kids-rules-for-online-safety/

SafeKids Blogging - http://safekids.com/safe-blogging-tips/

KidSMART - http://www.kidsmart.org.uk/netnasties/

KidsHealth Safe Cyberspace Surfing - http://kidshealth.org/kid/watch/house/internet_safety.html

WiredSafety - http://tweenangels.org/other_programs/wiredsafety_cybersafety.html

Quiz Show Format for Younger Students - http://www.netsmartzkids.org/

 

Piracy and Plagiarism
This topic refers to the ownership rights of materials that have been created, written, designed or produced by individuals. These materials include music, games, movies, photos, and writing. Illegally downloading or sharing intellectual property without the permission of the creator is a crime punishable by law.

Copyright is important because it protects creative work by making it against the law for anyone else to copy that work or use it on their own without permission.

Intellectual Property is any product of a creative mind. Piracy is the theft of intellectual property. For example, unauthorized copying and distribution of copyrighted music is breaking the law. Software, entertainment, and music piracy costs companies/industries billions of dollars a year.

WiredSafety (Piracy) - http://www.wiredsafety.org/

Respect Copyrights - http://www.respectcopyrights.org/

Copyright Kids - http://www.copyrightkids.org/

CyberBee - http://www.cyberbee.com/cb_copyright.swf

Vaughan Memorial Library (Plagiarism) - http://library.acadiau.ca/tutorials/plagiarism/

CopyMyths - http://www.templetons.com/brad/copymyths.html

Copyright Wesite - http://www.benedict.com/

Copyright (United States Copyright Office) - http://www.copyright.gov/

ProMusic Downloading Debate - http://www.pro-music.org

WiredSafety (Explaining the Reasoning) - http://www.wiredsafety.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=category&layout=blog&id=95&Itemid=37

YouTube (You will need to watch this movie at home - YouTube) - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CJn_jC4FNDo

Microsoft - http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-vista/Protecting-your-kids-with-Family-Safety

Wadsworth Cengage Learning (Plagiarism Prevention Zone) - http://college.cengage.com/english/plagiarism_prevention.html

CTAP 4 Region - http://www.ctap4.net/projects/cybersafety/piracy-and-plagiarism/38-cybersafety/140-piracy-and-plagiarism.html

 

Rules of Netiquette and Authenticating Online Information

Media Awareness Network (Educational Games) - http://mediasmarts.ca/digital-media-literacy/educational-games

Net Etiquette - http://www.albion.com/netiquette/corerules.html

Netiquette Guidelines - http://www.studygs.net/netiquette.htm