Holidays Links

Apples4theteacher - http://www.apples4theteacher.com/

Kaboose - http://holidays.kaboose.com/

Wilstar's Holiday World - http://wilstar.com/holidays

 

Black History

Africian Voices - http://www.mnh.si.edu/africanvoices/

Blue Web'n Learning - http://www2.lhric.org/pocantico/tubman/tubman.html

Friends of Allensworth - http://friendsofallensworthsandiego.com/

InfoPlease - http://www.infoplease.com/black-history-month/

The Library of Congress - http://lcweb2.loc.gov/diglib/ihas/html/stocks/stocks-home.html

National Underground Railroad Freedom Center - http://freedomcenter.org/

 

Christmas

Christmas at the North Pole - http://www.northpole.com/

North Pole Village - http://www.claus.com/village.php

 
Columbus Day

A to Z Teacher Stuff - http://themes.atozteacherstuff.com/240/columbus-day-activities-lesson-plans-ideas/

Kaboose - http://holidays.kaboose.com/columbus-day/index.html

Sunnie BunnieZZ - http://sunniebunniezz.com/holiday/columbus.htm

TeacherVision - http://www.teachervision.fen.com/columbus-day/teacher-resources/6607.html

Wilstar - http://www.wilstar.com/holidays/columbus.htm

Constitution Day

About.Com - http://usgovinfo.about.com/blconstday.htm

Ben's Guide (6-8) Scavenger Hunt - http://bensguide.gpo.gov/6-8/documents/constitution/background.html

Constitution Day - http://www.constitutionday.com/

National Archives - http://www.archives.gov/education/lessons/constitution-day/signers.html

SCORE Constitution Day - http://score.rims.k12.ca.us/score_lessons/special_events/constitution_day/

US National Archives - http://www.archives.gov/education/lessons/constitution-day/signers.html

 

Earth Day

Kaboose - http://holidays.kaboose.com/earth-day/index.html

 

Groundhog Day

Education World - http://www.educationworld.com/a_lesson/lesson048.shtml

Kaboose - http://holidays.kaboose.com/ground-hog-day/index.html

Official Website - http://www.groundhog.org/

StormFax Weather Almanac - http://www.stormfax.com/ghogday.htm

Wilstar - http://wilstar.com/holidays/grndhog.htm

 

Halloween

Halloween Magazine - http://www.halloweenmagazine.com/play.html

Pumpkin Nook - http://www.pumpkinnook.com

Pumpkingutter - http://www.pumpkingutter.com/

 

Martin Luther King Jr.

Holidays on the Net - http://www.holidays.net/mlk/

InfoPlease - http://www.infoplease.com/spot/mlkjrday1.html

MLK Online - http://www.mlkonline.net/holiday.html

 

Memorial Day

History of Memorial Day (Veterans Affairs) - http://www1.va.gov/opa/speceven/memday/

History Channel - http://www.history.com/topics/memorial-day-history

 

Red Ribbon Week

Alcohol, Peer Pressure, Teenage Underage Drinking - http://www.thecoolspot.gov/

Red Ribbon Week Activities and Information - http://imdrugfree.com/index.html

United States Drug Enforcement Administration - http://www.justice.gov/dea/ongoing/red_ribbon/redribbon_factsheet.html

 

St. Patrick's Day

A to Z Teacher Stuff - http://atozteacherstuff.com/Themes/St__Patrick_s_Day/

Apples for the Teacher - http://www.apples4theteacher.com/holidays/st-patricks-day/

Family Education - http://fun.familyeducation.com/st.-patricks-day/holidays/32935.html

The Holiday Zone - http://www.theholidayzone.com/stpat/strecipes.html

Kaboose - http://holidays.kaboose.com/saint-patricks-day/index.html

 

Thanksgiving

Teaching about Thanksgiving - http://www.ewebtribe.com/NACulture/articles/thanksgiving.html#stereotypes

Education World Activities - http://www.educationworld.com/a_lesson/lesson037.shtml

Education World Popcorn - http://www.educationworld.com/a_lesson/lesson/lesson324.shtml

Education World Thanksgiving Feast - http://www.educationworld.com/a_lesson/dailylp/dailylp/dailylp025.shtml

Education World The Real Story - http://www.educationworld.com/a_curr/curr040.shtml

May Flower History - http://mayflowerhistory.com/

Pilgrim Hall Museum - http://www.pilgrimhall.org/thanksg.htm

Thanksgiving on the Web - http://home.aristotle.net/Thanksgiving/

The Plymouth Colony Archieve Project - http://www.histarch.uiuc.edu/plymouth/index.html

The Teachers Corner - http://seasonal.theteacherscorner.net/thanksgiving/

 

Valentine's Day

HotChalk Lesson Plans Page - http://www.lessonplanspage.com/valentines-htm/

InfoPlease - http://www.infoplease.com/spot/valentinesdayhistory.html

Mr. Donn - http://holidays.mrdonn.org/valentine.html

teAchnology - http://www.teach-nology.com/teachers/lesson_plans/holidays/valentine/

 

Veterans Day

Barbara's Eutourage - http://www.entourages.com/barbs/veteransday.htm

Department of Veterans Affairs - http://www1.va.gov/opa/vetsday/

Holiday Zone - http://www.theholidayzone.com/veterans/index.html

Infoplease Veterans Day - http://www.infoplease.com/spot/veteransday1.html

Veterans Day Lessons - http://k6educators.about.com/cs/lessonplansthe/a/veteransday.htm